Welcome to the Rolfe Public Library!

For Children

Elementary Kids InfoBits

itke-web.png

Middle School

msic-web.png

Tween Book Box theme is:  Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's “Real Friends”, Kelly Yang's “Front Desk”, and Jerry Craft's “New Kid”.

 

*By registering for the Book Box Club, you are agreeing to attend the book chat at the library on August 11th, or you can submit a book review form of the book. Or both if you like! If you are not able to attend the chat and do not submit a review, you may not be eligible to register for future Book Box Club events.